Google Translate now supports five new Indic languages


June 23, 2011Google NewsNo comments

Google translate now supports five new Indian languages like Tamil,Telugu,Bengali, Gujarati and Kannada.These new language now brings the total count to 63 languages that Google translate support.

googel translate indic

Indic languages are difficult to translate as it has different structure when compared to English

Google blog:

Indic languages differ from English in many ways, presenting several exciting challenges when developing their respective translation systems. Indian languages often use the Subject Object Verb (SOV) ordering to form sentences, unlike English, which uses Subject Verb Object (SVO) ordering.





These language are spoken by about 500 million people which is the reason why Google have added these language to translate engine.


Also read: How google translate works.

Leave a Reply